Throwback Thursday – The Trapper Keeper

~Today, Chrissy’s throwing it way back to a “must have” Back-to School item from the 80’s~

I'm Remembering!, Designer Trapper Keeper

Not too long ago I was staring at piles of paperwork, strewn helter skelter across my desk at work, wondering, “where do I even begin to organize this mess?”  My next thought, “If only I had a Trapper Keeper!”

I haven’t thought of or seen a Trapper Keeper in probably 20, er…ok…maybe, 25 years, so I am not sure if they are even around anymore.   Let me tell you, when I was in Junior High, almost everyone carried around a Trapper Keeper at school.  There were available in about a zillion different colors and designs, so picking out just the right one to carry with you for an entire year was of the utmost importance.   I probably stood in the Back to School aisle at Target, narrowing down my options, for ages before I decided on which one was the absolute, most coolest one there.  And, don’t even get me started on how long it took me to wade through the plethora of folders to choose from to fill the darn thing.  My Mom must have had the patience of a saint! 🙂  (I was very excited when I came across the picture seen in the photo above because I had the exact same one!  Cue…giddy nostalgic, high pitch screech!)

For those of you unfortunate to have absolutely no idea what I’m even talking about, well that makes me feel really old! 🙂 Bascially the Trapper Keeper is a sturdy, oversized, plastic three ring binder held closed by a large flap outfitted with velcro.  Believe me, it was an altogether common occurence to hear the distinct, annoyingly loud, crackling sound of velcro ripping open throughout the classroom during the schoolday.  I bet the teachers loved it!   The Trapper Keeper not only looked cool when you were carrying it around at school, it was also an extremely helpful organizational tool.  It was a  fantastic way to keep track of all your homework and loose leaf papers in one handy place.

Today, I am kicking myself for not having kept one of my old Trapper Keepers.  Needless to say, if I had kept everything I find myself wishing I still had from my yesteryears, my home would be a subject of the tv show, Hoarders.   So, it is probably a good thing I threw most of it away!

~Chrissy

(Image via I’m Remembering!, Designer Trapper Keeper (clipped to polyvore.com))

Leave a Reply

