Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep

As I write this post, I am laying in my warm, cozy bed at 3 o’clock in the morning.  I am waiting for the Sweet Dream Fairies (as my daughter and I call them) to come visit me.

Why am I awake at this crazy hour?  I can no longer say it is because I am nursing a baby or walking the halls with a croupy toddler.  For some reason, I am just wide awake, hanging out in the silent house, waiting for sleep to come.

Any-who, I don’t know about any one else who experiences this but I always find myself inspired to DO something during these awake-all-night-adventures.  I think: “Oh!  I will start that book I have wanted to write!”  or “I will enter an essay contest” or “I will start to send out all my picture shares that I am months behind on.”  (For my close peeps, you now understand why you get 4 emails at a time with picture shares! Ha ha!)

The problem I have with these midnight adventures is that I don’t usually follow through with my grand plans the next day.  I don’t start my book because I have too many topics to choose from.  I will write the essay, but won’t have the inspired courage to send it the next day.

I can say, however, that I did send in one midnight essay over 15 years ago.  It was for the local newspaper and they wanted to know why people in our community  loved their neighborhood.  That was a piece of cake because Chrissy and I grew up in the BEST neighborhood in the world!  So I wrote about how Chrissy and I grew up, spending many nights in our youth, sitting on our front porches.  My essay started off saying “My Best Friend Chrissy and I were sitting on my front porch one summer night…”.  We would share our dreams, create new ones, and watch the world in front of us.  Guess what?  I won!  The newspaper picked 7 entries and did a front page spread on me, my essay, my neighborhood and all of its wonderful history!  I was so excited, proud and shocked!  It was an awesome experience.

I probably should have asked Chrissy if she minded that I was using her in my essay because the end result was the newspaper wanting to photograph us both in front of my parents’ house.  I have a tendency to throw her into the lime light at times.  While she isn’t crazy about all the attention, she has learned to just go with it for my sake.  (One of the many reasons I’m blessed to have her in my life and one of the many reasons why I love her so much!)   Here is the picture the newspaper took of me and Chrissy for the article.  It was taken back in the early 90’s, in front of my parents house.

So much has happened since then, but Chrissy and I make it a point to still sit on our parent’s porches when I visit because we don’t want to forget the past and we always keep dreaming. In fact, we have a date to do just that wen I visit home this summer.  And on that note my friends, I am going to try to sleep and find some new dreams of my own!  Sleep tight and don’t let the bed bugs bite!

~Alicia

2 thoughts on “Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep

  1. The fact that you threw me into the lime light from time to time when we were younger is one of the reasons I love you. I think it is only the best of friends who will challenge you and take you out of your comfort zone from time to time. You’ve definitely done that for me and I am grateful to have shared in those really special and fun moments with you. Love you and I’m looking forward to our date on the front porch! ~chrissy

  2. Chrissy's Dad says:

    You better not have been somke’n and drink’n on on my front porch!…liked the article very much though.

Leave a Reply

