Pressing my Luck

Lately, I am finding myself with a strange facination with filling out on-line sweepstakes forms. I’m not really sure why because I’ve never been one of those people who by some weird twist of fate win almost everything they ever try for.  You know the kind.  We all know them, and while I am happy the luck gods blessed them with such an insane amount of good fortune, I can’t help but wonder, where in the world is my luck?

I can’t say I’ve never in my life won something I’ve entered, so I must have some luck inside me somewhere.  Maybe its a bit sluggish or prone to hibernating long periods of time.  The first time I ever won something was in 1983.  I was at a Block Party.  There was a table with glass containers filled with various fun things, like money and M&M’s.  Our task was to guess the number of things in each jar and whoever guessed closest to the correct number won that jar.  I won the jar filled with pennies!  I was beyond thrilled.  In fact, I treasured this jar filled with about $3 in pennies so much I never spent it.  At some point between childhood and striking it out on my own, the jar disappeared.  I figured I must have at some point, probably when I was a teenager, finally spent my winnings on something very important, like a McDonald’s value meal. 🙂   Then, a couple weeks ago my parent’s asked me to take a look at some old junk of mine they found while trying to organize and de-clutter their basement.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  My jar of pennies was right there! I am really easily excited about such seemingly silly things and this was one of those moments I felt pure joy from the bottom of my toes to the tips of my fingers.  My jar of pennies, the very first prize I ever won, had found it’s way back to me.  Maybe it’s a sign of good luck to come my way in the here and now?

Even though my winnings have been few and far between since 1983, I have a couple memorable prizes. For instance, in 1987 I was the 10th caller at a local radio station. My big prize?  Tickets to see the advanced screening of “Who’s that Girl?” starring none other then Madonna!  My excitement runneth over and, yes, I loved every minute of the movie.  I haven’t seen it since then.  It’s just a thought, but I have an inkling it wouldn’t be a good as I remember thinking it was!

Between 1987 and now, my luck took some time off. It must have felt overworked and wanted a nice long rest. Eventually though, it must have got hungry and thought it was time to help me out to a bit because I won a $25 gift card to Cheeseburger’s in Paradise at a work conference about five years ago.  I now refer to my luck as Whimpy (You know, from Popeye who is most known for this line,”I’ll gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today.”) I think it seems fitting!

whimpy

whimpy (Photo credit: dank1012)

Whimpy may not like his new name, or has since then developed a twisted sense of humor and wanted to try it out on me for some giggles. I’ll let you decide for yourself with my latest big win which happened about a month ago.  I received an email from fullfillment@eprize…. the email was titled “Big News from The Moisture Surge Intense Sweepstakes”.  OMG, I had actually won one of the on-line sweepstakes I’ve been entering!  I opened the email and started reading. Holy Moley, I was super excited to find out exactly what my big prize was. “We’re happy to let you know that you’re a winner in the sweepstakes.  You’ve won a Clinique Moisture Surge 7ml sample, which has an approximate retail value of $0.90.  Congratulations!”  Wow, really? Ninety whole cents? Talk about my visions of grandeur (i.e. exotic trip, money, even a full size bottle of Clinique moisturizer) being completely deflated.  I can still hear Whimpy’s chuckles. He definitely got a kick out of that one. (Before you get too worried about my mental state I just want to note, I know Whimpy is not real and I do not carry on conversations with him in my day to day life. He is but a figment of my imagination and only really called upon when I am in need of a bit of luck.  If however I ever start to talk to Whimpy as if a real person, Alicia or my husband are tasked with admitting me to the local Psych Ward for observation.  Ok, I am glad to get that off my chest!)

In all seriousness, you can’t win anything without trying, so I’ll continue filling out entry forms and more then likely continue not winning much of anything.  I do want to impart on you a little bit of advice I have for entering sweepstakes.  I mean, I wouldn’t want reading this post to be a total waste of your time! 🙂
* Only enter contests through trusted sites/brands.  Facebook is a great way to find sweepstakes from your favorite brands.                                                                                                                                                           * Only enter in contests you are interested in winning.  Seems silly but it leads me to my next point:                *  Don’t try for prizes that you couldn’t afford paying taxes on if by some weird chance you actually won, cause that would suck. 

**Update:  This just in….The day after this post was published I won a $5 Gift Card to Target when I found an Easter Egg hidden on the website www.WomanFreebies.com.  I am taking this as a sign that Whimpy really enjoyed my post!  Woo Hoo!!!! 

~Chrissy

Leave a Reply

