When Irish Eyes Are Smiling

Well, tomorrow is St. Patrick’s Day! Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Chrissy and I both love this holiday! We each have different things we love about this fun filled day.

Alicia: I love this holiday because I’m Irish (complete with the red hair and Irish temper). My Dad is half Irish and we can trace our roots on his side back to the 1800’s in the Irish County where my Great Great Grandparents were born! On my Mom’s side, I have two Great, Great, Great Grandfathers from Ireland! It is pretty amazing to be able to trace things back that far!

Chrissy: I actually have a bit of Irish blood flowing in my veins as well. My Great Grandparent’s made the long journey over here from Ireland. I find that family tree stuff so fascinating. I love learning about my heritage. People I never knew and yet they are still very much a part of me and who I am. I think that connection I feel with my ancestors has always endeared me to this holiday.

Alicia: Every year I watch “Darby O’Gill & the Little People!” Now some of you may not have ever even heard of this movie. It is a great film about an old man who tries to catch the King of the Leprechauns. It is filled with many great Irish superstitions of the holiday, and based in Ireland. I have to admit that I don’t watch this solely for the historical references. One of my favorite actors stars in this movie. He was in the prime of his younger years and he became the subject of my 13 year old self’s crush. Sean Connery, with his dark black hair, an Irish accent and he sings a darling song. “Oh she is my dear my darling one. Her eyes so filled with sparkling fun. No other, no other, can match the likes of her!” Sigh. I melt every time I see this scene. You should really watch this movie with your kids. There is a slightly “scary” scene that may scare a really little one, but it is a Disney movie so it isn’t all that bad.

Chrissy: Right around this time of year Sean Connery begins to sing in my ear, as well. Thanks to the Disney Channel running Darby O’Gill and the Little People around this time every year, from the time the Disney Channel first aired until I was too old to watch the Disney Channel, the song became permanently seared onto my brain. (Yes, I can remember a time before there was a Disney Channel and even before cable tv existed. Gosh that makes me feel really old.) I also, have to agree with you Alicia, Sean Connery was such a doll in this movie!!!

Alicia: I also make corned beef, cabbage and boiled potatoes for my family. I started this tradition a few years ago. It took everything in me not to laugh when I put this food down because the looks they gave me were priceless! Their faces, marked with utter confusion and slight disgust. I told them it is a traditional meal that their ancestors ate. They made me promise to NOT make it again until the next St. Patty’s Day. Ha ha! In all seriousness, it was delicious for everyone except our son, H, who is a rather “selective” eater.

Chrissy: The other reason I love St Patrick’s Day so much is because my husband and I had our first date on this day 10 years ago. I am ever so grateful we picked a Holiday for the day of our first date, I wouldn’t have remembered the exact date for the life of me otherwise. (I am kind of horrible with dates.) Now lucky for us, we can celebrate the anniversary of our first date every year along with millions of other St Patty Day revelers! Yeah us!

We hope you have a fabulous St. Patrick’s Day and don’t forget to wear some green!

~Alicia & Chrissy

4 thoughts on “When Irish Eyes Are Smiling

  1. […] When Irish Eyes Are Smiling (onceuponafriendship.com) […]

  2. […] When Irish Eyes Are Smiling (onceuponafriendship.com) […]

  3. […] When Irish Eyes Are Smiling (onceuponafriendship.com) […]

Leave a Reply

