My latest obsession: The Vampire Diaries

When I was a kid, if you didn’t watch a TV show the day it aired you were kind of S.O.L.  Nowadays, I don’t have to remember the day and time my favorite shows air thanks to the brilliant and wonderful DVR.  I also have started to used Netflix’s Watch Instantly feature quite a bit.  These days we have a seeming endless amount of tv shows out there vying for our attention. Watch Instantly is an oh so wonderful piece of technological  loveliness allowing me to discover “new” shows I might never have had the inclination to watch or had even heard about when they first aired on tv.  Don’t you just love technology?

The season two cast of the show. (front-from l...

Image via Wikipedia

A couple of weekends ago, I had a bit of a sick bug leaving me with lots of time to lay on my couch and browse through seemingly infinite opportunities for my TV watching enjoyment via Netflix’s Watch Instantly.  I decided to give The Vamipire Diaries a try.  The show is already in its third season, giving me two whole seasons worth of episodes to catch up on.  It’s a supernatural young adult drama mixed with a good dose of wittiness, mostly from the character, Damon Salvatore, played by Ian Somerhalder, who has quickly become my favorite character in the show.  The basic premise is the age old story of two guys, who happen to be brothers, falling for the same girl.  Mix in vampires, witches and werewolves  and you get quite a fun storyline with a number of twists and turns to keep things interesting.  Sure it’s geared toward the young adult crowd but I am not embarrassed in the least to say I am thoroughly enjoying it.  I think I will always be young at heart!  If you haven’t caught it yet, check it out.  I’m hooked.

~Chrissy

Image found on photobucket.

2 thoughts on “My latest obsession: The Vampire Diaries

  1. Krystal Rose says:

    I have watched Vampire Diares since day one and love it too! Damon is without a doubt my favorite character and he only gets better as the seasons go on. Wait until you get caught up! 🙂

  2. Krystal, we seem to have a lot in common! I just finished up Season 2 this week. Now I’ll be twiddling my thumbs, trying to avoid seeing any spoilers while waiting for Season 3 to get over with and come out on DVD so I can catch up before it starts again in the fall. It’s all so horribly frustrating, lol!!! ~Chrissy

Leave a Reply

