Anne-Girl

Seeing as how one of our blog’s focuses is on friendship, I figured now was as good as time as any to tell you about one of my short comings.  Since we are all friends here, I feel I can be completely honest.  After all, if  you can’t turn to your friends when you need to admit something, who can you turn to?

English: Cover of Anne of Green Gables by Lucy...

Image via Wikipedia

It is very difficult for me to admit this.  I’ve had many interventions in my life and have been stubborn as hell about admitting that I have a problem with this topic.  Here it goes.  I am obsessed with “Anne of Green Gables.”  THERE!  I said it out loud for the whole world to hear!   But there is something wrong with this admission.  I am not sad about this.  Quite the contrary!  I am happy to admit that I am obsessed with the Anne-Girl.  I have adored Anne Shirley since I started reading and have loved her ever since.  If, for some reason, you aren’t familiar with Anne of Green Gables, here is a beautiful slide show highlighting the story of Anne Shirley.

 

Jonathan Crombie as Gilbert Blythe in Anne of ...

Image via Wikipedia

There is something very unique and special about “Anne of Green Gables,” written my Lucy Maud Montgomery.  Whether it be your special bond with your best friend, the trials and tribulations of growing up, or the ongoing romance between Anne and Gilbert (Gil…sigh…), I think there is something that most of us can relate to. The book is set in Prince Edward Island, Canada.  It has become one of my dream vacation destinations.  The beautiful shores and country side have lured me in and I can’t wait to visit there someday!  Anne has taught me about how special it is when you find a true Kindred Spirit in this life; that you need to embrace them and love them whole heartedly!  There are so many things about Anne of Green Gables I love, one of which is the story of her and her bosom friend Diana.  It complete embodies how I feel my friendship is with Chrissy over all these years.

For me, one of the main things that Anne represents is the need we all have for love, affection and family.  Anne is an orphan in need of love and because of this, she found love and beauty everywhere she turned:  from the beautiful cherry blossom tree she thought she may sleep in had Matthew not picked her up from the train station, to the Lake of Shining Waters, where her soon-to-be best friend Diana Berry lived.  That intense love she has reminds me of the intense love I have for my two sisters and two brothers.  They are my best friends in so many different ways and I can’t imagine my life without them.   They have been my biggest cheerleaders in life, have taught me how to be self-less and have always made me feel like I could do anything in the world.  I will love them until the end of time and will always cherish all they do for me.  They are four of my most cherished Kindred Spirits.

The love Anne has for Matthew & Marilla, her adoptive parents who are brother & sister, reminds me of my love for my parents.  My parents are everything I aspire to be.  I strive to be the Mother that my Mom is to us all with her unrelenting love, her love of life and her willingness to break a few rules.  My Dad has always made me feel safe and protected, someone I admire and respect so deeply.  Without them in my life, I don’t know how I would have survived many of life’s experiences.  I thank God every day for blessing me with the parents I have.  They have always, and still do, make me feel exceptional.  I owe so much of who I am to them and I love them so very, very much.

Megan Follows and Jonathan Crombie on location...

Image via Wikipedia

In all honesty, I think I’ve grown closer to Anne over the last few years because living so far away from my family has made me appreciate them even more.  I find myself watching the movie quite often because it makes me feel like I got to have a little bit of home.  It helps remind me that no matter where I am in this world, I will always have my family.  They are there for me no matter what, and I hope they know that I will always be there for them.

~ Alicia

3 thoughts on “Anne-Girl

  1. I too share this same fascination/obsession with Ms. Shirley. I have claimed since the very first time I was introduced to the series, that she is my alter ego. A beautiful spirit. And it is nice to see someone on the blogosphere that feels a great love for this series like I do 🙂

    • I feel exactly the same way that you do! I have always felt that she was MY alter-ego! LOL She is an extremely relate-able character that seems to span the generations. I am extremely passionate about the series and have been in love with it since I first saw the TV series on the Disney Channel when I was a very young girl. I am so happy that you connected with us, as the Anne-Girl fans must stick together! 🙂 Thanks for commenting and keep in touch!

  2. […] Montgomery.  Alicia wrote about her love of all things Anne a few months ago which you can read here.  When we were young girls we both devoured these books and watched the tv series over and over […]

Leave a Reply

