Once Upon A Friendship

Once upon a time, there were two friends.  They lived across the street from each other on a magical street.  Believe me when I say this was no ordinary neighborhood, and these were no ordinary girls.  This neighborhood was filled with children laughing, neighbors singing and so many whimsical things happening all the time.  It was one of those places where, as a child, you felt that the whole world really did exist in that one special spot.  I believe that, in the safety of this special neighborhood, these two girls were allowed to grow their friendship.  They formed a bond that would stand the test of time.

Have you ever had a friend that you know will be there for you any day or time you need them?  Have you ever had a friend that knows you almost as well as you know yourself?  I do.  I am lucky to say that I have several friends in my life that are like this, many of them my own siblings.  One of these friends, Chrissy, has been my friend since we were 5 years old.  I won’t tell you exactly how long ago that was, but we’ll just say it was about 30 years ago that we met.   We are best friends now and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Chrissy and I have shared many great moments in our adventures through life together.   She’s pretty cool.  Actually, she’s more than cool.  Chrissy is the type of friend that will do anything you need, listen to you cry and laugh-until-it-hurts friend.  She’s the nut in the middle of the muffin that brings you to reality when you need it and she is the crispy sugar coating on top that sweetens the “blow” to make life easier to handle.  Chrissy is one of the people in my life that I know I can count on for ANYTHING.  And I mean anything.

Chrissy and I grew up literally across the street from each other.  I can remember countless summer nights spent on our front porches talking about everything from school and boys to our dreams for the future.  We attended grade school and high school together, and we were each others Maid of Honor at our weddings.  Chrissy was there for me when I lost family members I loved in high school and she was there when my husband and I celebrated the birth of our children.  She is one of the constants in my life and I am so thankful to God for sending her to me.

Most recently in our lives, we had to adapt to a big change.  In 2005, I moved away from our hometown for my husband’s job.  I was sad to move away from our families and friends.  I knew that my friendship with Chrissy would stand the test of time, and it has.  Six and a half years and four moves later, I’m still living out of town but I’m closer than ever before with my BFF.  I can say that the evolution of the internet and things like MySpace, Twitter and Facebook have really helped.  Even with all that technology, we talk several times a week and I come to visit home once or twice a year.   Our friendship has survived the big move-away-and-never-hear-from-them-again experience so I’d say we are definitely stuck with each other for life! Ha ha!

We thought this blog would be a fun way to document our experiences while sharing them with all of you!  You’ll get to see how we have handled being so far from each other, how we shop together, how we help each other in our daily lives, and how we just have fun!  So come and join us on our journey of friendship and enjoy the ride!

~Alicia

Friends are so important to life, to growing up and becoming who we are.  It’s the people we meet along the way, the family we have and the family we create through our friendships that ultimately define who we are.  I am so blessed to have really amazing friends, all of whom I admire, adore and love so much.

As our title suggests, I feel like our friendship is a sort of fairy tale.  I remember the first day I met Alicia.  My family had recently moved into a new home, a block away from school.  One Sunday, not long after we had moved into the neighborhood, my parents dragged my brother and I kicking and screaming to Sunday Mass.  As a girl, I was always fascinated by the balcony at our church.  It was used by the choir, so it was rarely opened for the general congregation to sit in, but for some reason that day we got to sit up there.  I was overjoyed at the novelty of sitting so high up and being able to look down over the heads below.  I actually kind of felt like a princess gazing over my subjects!  Alicia and her family were also sitting in the balcony that Sunday.  The very first picture I have in my head of her is one of this adorable little red haired girl peering at me through her huge glasses.  In my memory she is wearing a sailor style navy and white dress, but I can’t be sure if this is an entirely accurate account of the day or something I added in myself over time.  Alicia always had this crazy infatuation with sailor style dresses as a girl!

After church was over, her parents asked mine if I would like to come over and play.  It was at this moment our friendship began.  I am eternally grateful to my parents and hers for bringing us together.  Alicia is more than a best friend, she is my sister.  She is goofy and silly and has always made me laugh.  Alicia is spirited and talkative and has this uncanny way of lighting up a room.  Growing up, I was almost painfully quiet and shy.  Alicia was my voice when my shyness would render me speechless.  If it weren’t for her sticking her head out our car window and yelling at guys to pull over while we cruised down the street, I might never have talked with a single guy during my teenage years!  She has always been willing to lend me her strength when I need it.

We’ve weathered all sorts of storms, from the death of loved ones, to our hopelessly awkward journey through puberty.  We’ve stood together, shoulder to shoulder, and conquered many different ogres:  from mean kids in childhood, to the everyday stresses of adulthood.  We were there for each other during those crazy dating years when we each fell for various knights wearing what ultimately turned out to be deceivingly shiny armour.  Shoulders were cried on and broken hearts were mended and, ultimately, we each found our prince.  In the fairy tales, this would be the point the story would end.  However, and I am sorry about this Alicia, but you couldn’t get rid of me even if you tried.  I never told you this before, but I had an evil witch cast a wee little curse on you long ago, so as to guarantee the pages of our friendship keep turning.  You’re stuck with me girlie, forever!!!!

~Chrissy

One thought on “Once Upon A Friendship

  1. […] Once Upon A Friendship (onceuponafriendship.com) […]

Leave a Reply

